I wish you enough

I enjoy a good internet meme like Texts from Hilary ClintonIkea Monkey and Kid President.  Recently I came across a Facebook post/story that’s been making the rounds called “I wish you enough.”

Part of the story included the following “poem,” which really got me thinking:

I wish you enough sun to keep your attitude bright. I wish you enough rain to appreciate the sun more. I wish you enough happiness to keep your spirit alive. I wish you enough pain so that the smallest joys in life appear much bigger. I wish you enough gain to satisfy your wanting. I wish you enough loss to appreciate all that you possess. I wish you enough hellos to get you through the final good-bye.

I was really struck by this idea of “enough.”

So often in today’s society, people want more, more, more.  And all of this “more” generates a lot of waste, from single-use packaging and products, to poorly made products that won’t last very long, to homes overflowing with unwanted belongings.

It all comes back to that lesson about needs versus wants.  Do you need something because its necessary for health and survival?  Or do you want something because its convenient, trendy or cheap?

When was the last time you were satisfied with “enough?”

About John Watson

I'm the Director of Customer Success for ReCollect Systems. We're a technology company that specializes in waste management apps that delight residents. Previously, I was the Waste Diversion Educator Coordinator for Halton Region, where I implemented award winning communications and outreach programs.
This entry was posted in Green Living and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I wish you enough

  1. While some over-indulgence is good for the soul, enough is an underrated state. I don’t need Ferrero Rocher – my favourite chocolates. Which is why I eat as many as I can get my hands over the Christmas period. I appreciate the satisfying of that want a whole lot more than if I had them any time I wanted, and I don’t feel like I’m being monk-ish and depriving myself of joy because I know that as soon as I’m first offered one in the Christmas I could go out and buy a year’s worth if I wanted to. But I don’t, because my yearly treat is Enough.

Leave a Reply

